Literary Heritage Award Winners


The Nebraska Literary Heritage Association began sponsoring the Literary Heritage Award in 1988. 
The award recognizes persons or groups that promote excellence in writing in Nebraska. 
It was presented at the Mayor’s Arts Awards, 1988 – 2013, and at the Annual Adult Spelling Bee, beginning in 2014.

1988         1st           John Janovy & Hilda Raz 
1989         2nd          Ted Kooser 
1990         3rd           David McCleery 
1991         4th           Bess Walt 
1992         5th           William Kloefkorn 
1993         6th           Herb Hyde
1994         7th           Jane Geske 
1995         8th           Martha Greer 
1996         9th           Marly Swick 
1997         10th         Nebraska Literature Festival 
1998         11th         Morrie Tuttle 
1999         12th         Marge Saiser 
2000         13th         Molly Fisher 
2001         14th         Ruth Rosekrans Hoffman 
2002         15th         Ruthann Young 
2003         16th         Kit Dimon & Judy Wilcox 
2004         17th         Campbell’s Nurseries & Garden Centers 
2005         18th         Carol Connor 
2006         19th         Dorothy Olson Young
2007         20th        Gerry Cox 
2008         21st         Paul A. Olson 
2009         22nd        Robert Knoll
2010         23rd         NET Radio: “All About Books” with hosts, Charles Stephen & Otis Young
2011         24th         Jim McKee & Linda Hillegass 
2012         25th         Joe Starita 
2013         26th         Joel Sartore 
2014         27th         Mary Pipher 
2015         28th         Meredith McGowan 
2016         29th         Rod Wagner
2017         30th         Roger Welsch
2018         31st         Paul Johnsgard