History | Board of Trustees

Our History

The Foundation for Lincoln City Libraries is a non-profit 501(c) (3) corporation founded in 1954 to enhance and enrich Lincoln’s community library system by soliciting and receiving gifts to meet the needs of the library and the intent of the donor. Today, as in 1954, the Foundation has provided the support to ensure that Lincoln’s libraries remain on of the crown jewels of our community. Through technology, programs, events, or other special opportunities, we are dedicated to making sure that our libraries remain the vital and active community centers that are paramount to a thriving community.

Throughout its history, the Foundation has played a crucial role in ensuring that the Lincoln City Libraries expand to meet the needs of a growing community. The Foundation is active in raising funds for the building and furnishings of new public libraries and upgrading current buildings and furnishings. Beginning in the 1980s, the Foundation accepted gifts to endow the Jane Pop Geske Heritage Room of Nebraska Authors, which resulted in the formation of the Nebraska Literary Heritage Association, a support organization affiliated with the Foundation. The Foundation also manages special funds designated to benefit specific areas of the library, such as the Dorothy Bridgmon Martin Gift Fund, which supports the children’s room at the main library, and the Thompson Memorial Fund which provides annual funds for children’s books. Today, as Lincoln’s library system faces new challenges, the Foundation is committed to increasing private support by stepping up its outreach and fundraising efforts.

 Board of Trustees

Ken Koop, President

Matt Kirkland, Vice President

Chris Steffens, Treasurer  

Brian Bock, Assistant Treasurer 

Amanda Garrett, Secretary

Barb Jacobson, Advisor

Ed Bates   

 Doug Campbell   

Brian Chaffin 

Rod Confer

  Sarai Douglas-Schulz 

Carl Eskridge

 Herb Friedman 

Amanda Garrett 

Jessica Greenwald

Julie Heinrich   

Jane Hood 

Rachel Hruza   

 Trixie Koch

Robin Martin 

Donna Marvin

Mike McCoy   

Brian Morrow

Marna Munn   

Melissa Newton


Julie Robinson   

Herb Schimek   

Samuel Settle

Dan Sloan   

Ryan Sothan

Aradhna Srivastav

Brian Sunderman

Troy Terwilliger   

Darryl White


Foundation Staff

Gail McNair, Executive Director
Michelle Farley, Administrative Assistant